6.8 C
New York

Which states in Mexico do not apply the time change and why?


Two Mexican entities do not suffer from the modification of routines that the time change entails. Every time a time change occurs in Mexico, it usually causes controversy because it modifies the population’s routines. However, this situation is something that the inhabitants of two states do not have to suffer and here we tell you what they are. Under the administration of Ernesto Zedillo, the time change began in April 1993 with the intention of taking advantage of sunlight and saving energy.

However, according to the Ministry of Health, advancing or delaying the clock one hour every certain time can have certain secondary effects on people, in biological, psycho-emotional and social aspects.

What states of Mexico do not have time change?

The only two entities that should not make a change in their schedule at any time of the year, as is the case in the rest of the country in summer and winter, are Quintana Roo and Sonora.


On January 31, 2015, the time change in Quintana Roo was eliminated with the creation of southeast time, after the entity left the 90° west meridian and moved to 75° west.

This decision was made to take advantage of the natural light of the Caribbean and that tourists have one more hour of light in the region.

The change occurred after the reform made by the Congress of the Union to articles 2 and 3 of the Time System Law in the United Mexican States.


Due to economic reasons, Sonora does not participate in the daylight saving time program. In 2016, the governments of Arizona in the United States and the state of Sonora signed an agreement to promote a mega region that allows the development of both areas.

Said agreement allows Sonora to have a schedule without modifications. This is due to the fact that the Arizona Congress refused to join the time change due to the high temperatures of the summer in 1998.
“The Sonora-Arizona megaregion represents a fundamental commercial corridor for North America, so Sonora and Arizona intend to increase the flow of products through this corridor and both entities seek to boost their industries,” indicates the understanding agreement between the two state governments.

Is it plan to remove the time change?

The president of Mexico, Andrés Manuel López Obrador, showed interest in the time change. To the extent that he will send an initiative to remove it. Because it causes “damage to health” and “saving (energy) is minimal.” “There is a lot of possibility of removing it. But we are going to explain why, especially because of the damage to health. It is prove that health is damage. But also the savings are minimal. The study was carry out by the Ministry of Energy, they work together with the Federal Electricity Commission (CFE) and the Ministry of Health, and the conclusion is that the damage to health is greater than the importance of economic savings,” he say at a conference press release hold on June 1.

Time change in border municipalities

Due to the relationship with the United States, there are 33 border municipalities. That delay the time change for a week. So that it occurs in accordance with the southern areas of the North American country.

  • Baja California: Tijuana, Mexicali, Ensenada, Playa Rosarito and Tecate.
  • Chihuahua: Juárez, Ojinaga, Ascension, Coyame del Sotol, Guadalupe, Janos, Manuel Benavides and Práxedis G. Guerrero.
  • Coahuila: Acuña, Piedras Negras, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jiménez, Zaragoza, Nava and Ocampo.
  • Nuevo León: Anahuac and Los Aldama.
  • Tamaulipas: Nuevo Laredo, Reynosa, Matamoros, Camargo, Guerrero, Gustavo Díaz Ordaz, Mier, Miguel Alemán, Río Bravo and Valle Hermoso.

Which states will eliminate DST in 2021?

Residents of some states will not change their clocks. The only parts of the US that do not observe daylight saving time are Hawaii. most of Arizona, Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands, the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, and American Samoa.

Is daylight saving time changing?

Daylight Saving Time ends this Sunday, November 7, 2021. Sunday night sunset in New York will be at 4:45 p.m. m. Most Americans don’t like this confusing and disruptive ritual of changing our clocks twice a year.

Will daylight saving time change in 2021?

Daylight saving time begins on Sunday, March 14, 2021 at 2:00 AM. m. On Saturday night, clocks are set one hour forward (ie, one hour back) to “move forward”. Daylight saving time ends on Sunday, November 7, 2021 at 2:00 AM. m. On Saturday night. The clocks are set back one hour (i.e. forward one hour) to “turn back”.


Related articles

Recent articles